Achzet Winner of IrRegular 45

Joe Achzet in Right Place at Right Time for IrRegular 45 Win

Oswego, NY – June 23, 2015…Joe Achzet capitalized on a late race mistake by leader Chris Meyers to bring home his first Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series rFactor win in the 1st to Finish Docks & Hoists IrRegular 45 Tuesday night at Oswego Speedway.

IrRegular 45 top three finishers

Joe Achzet beat Keith Powell and Chris Meyers for the 1st to Finish Docks & Hoists IrRegular 45 win.

Keith Powell drove his CPR Motorsports machine home for second and Meyers was able to rally from the back into the top three.

Achzet was a surprised winner after watching early leader Chris Meyers pull away from the field at will. “Chris was off and gone after about lap five so I don’t know what happened to him, all of a sudden he was turned around on the backstretch and got put to the back for bringing out the caution, but its good to be back,” he said.

Keith Powell made his way to the podium for the second time in two weeks with his best finish so far this season of second place. He said, “I didn’t really have anything for Chris. He took off at the beginning I don’t know what happened to him and it’s a real bummer to see him spun out.”  He added, “Congrats to Joe, all in all a real fun night, I appreciate all the guys that showed up.”

Chris Meyers was visibly upset after nearly winning for the second week in a row. “I went to the inside of the 35 to put a lap on him I saw his left front come towards my right front and I thought we were going to make contact, so I moved, and by the time i got it corrected it was too far gone,” said a disappointed third place finisher.

The race got underway to an inauspicious start when pole sitter Dave Soja and fellow front row starter Rob Warren collided in turn three with third place starter Ray Sand, Jr. Steve Callahan was also collected in the crash before even a lap could be run.

A complete restart was called by race director Dave Brigandi with the four drivers involved being sent to the rear of the new line-up.

Heat race wins went to Keith Powell and Ray Sand, Jr. while Rob Warren and Meyers won the semi-feature races.

SUPRS racers now get a two-week break before returning back to action for the Gold Crest Non-Wing Mid-Season Championship Twin 35s on July 14, 2015. This big double points show will pay bonus points to the overall Mid-Summer Champion and has traditionally been the event that changes the complexion of the championship battle. Practice for this race runs from 8:00-8:30pm. A drivers meeting will take place at 8:30pm. The first heat race is set to start at 9:00pm.

Supermodified and online racing fans can view timing and scoring of every SUPRS race this season with SUPRS LIVE! You’ll be able to keep up with your favorite SUPRS racer in an instant by going to

All fans can learn more about the original and oldest online supermodified sim sanction, the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, when they visit Join SUPRS active and vibrant Social Media channels by  “Liking” SUPRS on Facebook, Circling SUPRS on Google+Following @SUPRSOnline on Twitter, and viewing SUPRS videos on YouTube.


  • IrRegular 45
  • June 23, 2015
  • SUPRS rFactor NW V1 mod

Oswego Speedway

Heat Race 1 – 12 Laps (showing car number, driver name, hometown, sponsors)

  1. 41-Keith Powell; Geneva, OH; CPR Motorsports, Icing’s on Top
  2. 14-Joe Achzet; Yorkville, NY; GraphX
  3. 29-Dave Soja; Amherst, OH; XSTSR
  4. 25-Bob Gangwer; Goshen, IN; Wing Side Up Enterprises, B&G Racing Photos
  5. 84-Art Palmer; Wellington, OH; Ford Racing, XSTSR
  6. 58-Dave Vance; Pataskala, OH

Heat Race 2 – 12 Laps (showing car number, driver name, hometown, sponsors)

  1. 18-Ray Sand, Jr.; Rochester, NY; RPM,
  2. 35-Rob Warren; Pulaski, NY; 1st to Finish Docks & Hoists, Syracuse Time and Alarm
  3. 23-Chris Meyers; Amherst, OH; Adkins Glass, Euphoria Vapors
  4. 55-Steve Callahan; Cuyahoga Falls, OH; CPR Motorsports, Exide Battery
  5. 85-Perry Vance; Pataskala, OH; AWOL, Red’s Backyard BBQ
  6. 5-John Davidson; San Diego, CA: Supermodified Scorecard

Semi-Feature Race 1 – 12 Laps (showing car number, driver, name)

  1. 35-Rob Warren
  2. 18-Ray Sand, Jr.
  3. 14-Joe Achzet
  4. 41-Keith Powell

Semi-Feature Race 1 – 12 Laps (showing car number, driver, name)

  1. 23-Chris Meyers
  2. 29-Dave Soja
  3. 55-Steve Callahan
  4. 25-Bob Gangwer

Feature – 45 Laps (showing car number, driver, name, bonus, starting position/fastest lap/distance behind winner)

  1. 14-Joe Achzet; *; 2/16.870
  2. 41-Keith Powell; *; 4/16.837/+0.479
  3. 23-Chris Meyers; * ** !; 1/16.531/+1.052
  4. 25-Bob Gangwer; 3/16.842/+1.744
  5. 18-Ray Sand, Jr.;  10/16.835/+2.256
  6. 35-Rob Warren; 9/16.756/+2.953
  7. 85-Perry Vance; 5/16.803/+6.232
  8. 84-Art Palmer; 8/16.803/+6.232
  9. 29-Dave Soja; 12/16.748/+ 6.741
  10. 58-Dave Vance; 7/17.121/+1 Lap
  11. 55-Steve Callahan; 11/16.791/+1 Lap
  12. 5-John Davidson; 12/17.616/DNF

Time of Race:  18:37.10

  • * Denotes Lap Led
  • ** Denotes Most Laps Led
  • ! Denotes Fastest Lap of Race


  • There were two cautions for a total of nine laps
  • There was one lead changed amongst two drivers



John Davidson

Founder of SUPRS League Director

Comments are closed

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 450 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!