Dion Parish Memorial Race Next Up for SUPRS Competitors

Dion Parish Memorial posterFormer winners Sand, Jr., Becker, Callahan, and Gangwer expected to compete

December 8, 2013 – Goshen, IN… The Dion Parish Memorial is the longest running and most prestigious event for the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing League and is now set to take place at Rander Speedway on December 10, 2013.

This race honors the late Dion Parish. Dion was a supermodified racer that lost his life in a testing accident at Kalamazoo Speedway in 2002 while preparing for a late season event at Sandusky Speedway.  His dedication to the supermodified division and “Never Give Up” attitude was the inspiration for the founding of the SUPRS league and is a constant reminder to all members that there are more important things in life than winning races.

Dion Parish in his supermodified at M40 Speedway Fall Open Nationals

Dion Parish rolls into the pits after practice for the M40 Speedway Fall Open Nationals in 1999.

In the ten year history of the race there is one two time winner and that is current Gold Crest Wing Supermodified Series points leader and defending series champion Ray Sand, Jr. of Rochester, NY.  In 2007 Sand, Jr. used the win to propel him to his first SUPRS Championship and has since gone on to be the second most winning driver in league history.

While Sand, Jr. will certainly be one of the favored drivers to win this race, Carl “Bonzai” Becker is the defending champion of the event and has a stellar start to season so far, racking up three impressive wins and holding onto a top five spot in the championship pace. Becker of Lansing, MI will be one to watch in the 62 lap feature race and has the added inspiration of having known Dion Parish personally.

Other former winners expected to compete include 2011 winner “Steady” Steve Callahan and the winner of the inaugural race, Bob Gangwer.

Former Dion Parish Memorial Champions:

  • 2004 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Bobby Gangwer
  • 2005 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Sean O’Kane
  • 2006 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2007 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2008 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Chris Meyers
  • 2009 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: John Davidson
  • 2010 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Keith Powell
  • 2011 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Steve Callahan
  • 2012 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Carl Becker.

Bobby G.

Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series co-founder. "Voice of the Supermodifieds" Owner Bob Gangwer's Wing Side Up on the World Wide Web http://www.wingsideup.wordpress.com Christian, father, cigar smoker, bourbon drinker & race fan.

Comments are closed

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit OFRacing.com today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 450 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!