Dion Parish Memorial Coming this Week

Dion Parish Memorial Filled with Prestige for Sim Racing League

December 8, 2014 – Goshen, IN…The Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, (SUPRS), racers will be back in action this week with their NASCAR Heat winged sim supermodifieds for the 12th Annual Dion Parish Memorial on December 8, 2015 at Rander Speedway.

SUPRS 12th Annual Dion Parish Memorial supermodified sim race poster

When it comes to representing important moments with great graphics, we trust BreezeGraphics.com and so should you.

This race honors the late Dion Parish. Dion was a supermodified racer that lost his life in a testing accident at Kalamazoo Speedway in 2002 while preparing for a late season event at Sandusky Speedway.  His dedication to the supermodified division and “Never Give Up” attitude was the inspiration for the founding of the SUPRS league and is a constant reminder to all members that there are more important things in life than winning sim races.

In the 12 year history of the race there are just two SUPRS racers that have more than one win and they are six-time Gold Crest Wing Supermodified Series champion Ray Sand, Jr. of Rochester, NY and defending Dion Parish Memorial champion Chris Meyers.

Sand, Jr. is the only three-time winner with his first Dion Parish Memorial win coming in 2006. Then, in 2007, Sand, Jr. used the win to propel him to his first SUPRS Championship and has since become the most winning driver in series history. Sand, Jr. last won the race in 2013 and after running second in the 2014 edition comes into this year’s race with the SUPRS Gold Crest Wing Championship point lead and favored to win.

Last year, three former race champions and Myles Maxon made for an exciting 62 laps at Rander Speedway and when it was all said and done, it all came11-suprs_dion_parish_memorial_120914_L57_top4_pack_T2 down to lapped traffic and gutsy moves with Chris Meyers claiming his second Dion Parish Memorial for the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series. It’s unlikely that Meyers will attempt to defend his championship due to other commitments.

2011 winner “Steady” Steve Callahan had a great run last year, coming home in third for the second year in a row. Callahan led the first 57 laps of the race but was the one driver that didn’t come out on top in the race ending battle with lapped cars. Callahan is expected to compete for the win once again this year.

So far this season, Rob Warren has been the real thorn in Sand, Jr.’s side chalking up four wins which is just one short of what Sand, Jr. has right now. That may change with Sand, Jr. seeming to excel even more in the SUPRS NASCAR Heat V6 mod, where Warren seems to be better with the SUPRS rFactor NW V1 car. In Warren’s own words, “We’re headed back to NASCAR Heat for a while, so challenging Ray for the championship just got a little harder.”

For the second week in a row the SUPRSCharger and SUPRSChallenge bonuses will be up for grabs with the potential of 3o bonus points.

Action for the SUPRS racers begins at Rander Speedway December 7, 2015  with practice which starts at 8:00pm. Time Trials are at 8:30pm and Racing gets underway with the call to the green flag Dion’s daughters Mindy and Lindsey at 9:00pm. Full details can be found on the SUPRS schedule page

Fans can learn more about the original and oldest online supermodified sim sanction, the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, when they visit www.SUPRS.net. Join SUPRS active and vibrant Social Media channels by  “Liking” SUPRS on Facebook, Circling SUPRS on Google+, Following @SUPRSOnline on Twitter, and viewing SUPRS videos on YouTube.

Former Dion Parish Memorial Champions:

  • 2004 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Bobby Gangwer
  • 2005 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Sean O’Kane
  • 2006 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2007 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2008 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Chris Meyers
  • 2009 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: John Davidson
  • 2010 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Keith Powell
  • 2011 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Steve Callahan
  • 2012 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Carl Becker.
  • 2013 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2014 Dion Parish Memorial Champion: Chris Meyers

Bobby G.

Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series co-founder. "Voice of the Supermodifieds" Owner Bob Gangwer's Wing Side Up on the World Wide Web http://www.wingsideup.wordpress.com Christian, father, cigar smoker, bourbon drinker & race fan.

Comments are closed

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit OFRacing.com today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 450 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!