Quick Results: Warren Waits and Wins Terry Gibson Fast 50

Rob Warren Plays Waiting Game, Wins Terry Gibson Fast 50 at Sandusky

Sandusky, OH – January 10, 2017…Patience is a virtue, and Rob Warren kept his long enough before making a clean pass on Bob Gangwer in turn one at Sandusky Speedway to win the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, (SUPRS),  Terry Gibson Fast 50.

Rob Warren winner of 2017 Terry Gibson Fast 50 supermodified sim race

“Rocket” Rob Warren won his third SUPRS feature in a row at the Terry Gibson Fast 50 in Sandusky, OH.

“This is a bucket list race and it feels good to win here,” said Warren.

Gangwer hounded Warren to the finish but settled for second while Steve Callahan came home third.

The win was Warren’s third in a row and first in Gold Crest Division competition at Sandusky.

“I had a bad start and boy the 25, (Gangwer),  just took off on a rampage,” he explained. “I hunkered down and started to real Bob in. I knew where I was better than him and where I had to attempt the pass.”

Sticking to his strategy, the First to Finish Race Servers driver stayed close to the leader, biding his time as the two pulled ahead of the pack.

“I just figured I’d hook up with Bob and try to run away from the pack and once I felt that we were comfortably away from the pack and I saw were catching lapped cars, I knew it was time to go,” stated Warren.

SUPRS Terry Gibson Fast 50 pass for lead

Rob Warren slides under Bob Gangwer to take the lead in the Terry Gibson Fast 50 with just 13 laps to go.

When Gangwer struggled to get around the lapped car of Carl Becker, who was having a tight race with Chad Phelps, Warren pounced, sliding low in turn one when Gangwer hesitated for a split second.

“Because Sandusky is such a tough track to pass at, you have to use a lapped car to set a pick,” Warren said.

Ironically, Warren led nearly the same amount of laps as he did last year, but this time around it was the back-end of the race where he held Gangwer off for the last 13 circuits around the slightly banked half-mile asphalt oval.

Earlier in the evening Carl Becker and Gangwer won their heat races.

Tomorrow the SUPRS competitors are back at Sandusky for to try to become the 2017  Terry Gibson Memorial 100 Champion. Just four drivers have won this race with nearly all of them coming from the first two starting rows of the feature.

A brief practice session gets underway at 8pm, time trials, heats, a b-main will follow, and the green flag is set to drop on the big race an hour and 15 minutes later.

Watch for full results and post race report of the Terry Gibson Fast 50 as well tomorrow night’s 9th Annual Terry Gibson Memorial 100 coming soon to SUPRS.net.

Learn more about the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series by visiting www.SUPRS.net“Liking” SUPRS on Facebook, Circling SUPRS on Google+Following @SUPRSOnline on Twitter, and Viewing SUPRS videos on YouTube.


  • Terry Gibson Fast 50
  • Race 15 of 42
  • January 10, 2017
  • SUPRS NASCAR Heat W v6 mod
  • Sandusky  Speedway
  • 50 Laps
Position Car Driver Results Best Lap Laps Led
1. 35 Rob Warren 13:36.729 14.393 13
2. 25 Bob Gangwer +0.142 14.386 37
3. 55 Steve Callahan +4.032 14.424 0
4. 41 Keith Powell +5.032 14.478 0
5. 61 Derrick Backus +12.342 14.602 0
6. X Chad Phelps +1 Lap 14.678 0
7. 42 Carl Becker +1 Lap 14.549 0
8. 38 Kyle Clark DNF 14.772 0
9. 15 Joey Callahan DNF 14.522 0
10. 14 Joe Achzet DNS N/A 0

John Davidson

Founder of SupermodifiedScoreCard.com SUPRS League Director

Comments are closed

  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 350 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!
  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit OFRacing.com today and let Jeff know you care.
  • SUPRS Topless! 200 lap sponsorship 2017 slide
  • Countdown to Excitement

    13th Annual Topless! 200August 24th, 2017
    14 hours to go.
  • >>>13th Annual<<< SUPRS >>>Topless! 200<<<
    Oswego Speedway
    ***Schedule of Events***
    Friday 08/18/2017 12am –
    Sunday 08/20/2017 7pm
    Sunday 08/20/2017
    SUPRS RACE SERVER OPEN 7pm-11:59pm
    Topless! 200SUPRSNationals ESS Test-n-Tune
    Full 200 lap sim non-wing supermodifieds to test server settings, allow drivers to test fuel load, tire wear.

    • 7:00pm Practice non-wing supermodifieds
    • 7:15pm Drivers Meeting
    • 7:30pm TT NW supermodifieds
    • 7:45pm 200 lap sim
    • 9:00pm open track practice for wing supermodifieds

    Monday 08/21/2017
    SUPRS Test-N-Tune SERVER OPEN 8am-6pm
    Race 13-Finale’ 45

    • 8:00pm-Systems Checks
    • 8:30pm-Hot Laps
    • 8:45pm-Drivers Meeting
    • 9:00pm-Racing
    • 10:30pm-SUPRS Race Server Close

    Tuesday 08/22/2017
    SUPRS Test-N-Tune SERVER OPEN 8am-6pm
    SUPRSNationals ESS 50

    • 7:30pm-SUPRS Race Server Open
    • 8:00pm-Systems Checks
    • 8:15pm-Hot Laps
    • 8:30pm-Drivers Meeting
    • 8:45pm-Time Trials
    • 9:00pm-Racing
    • 10:30pm-SUPRS Race Server Closed

    Wednesday 08/23/2017
    13th Annual Topless! 200 Time Trials

    • 7:30pm-Systems Checks
    • 7:45-8:45pm-Hot Laps (alternating groups all non-wing cars)
    • 8:45pm-Drivers Meeting
    • 9:00pm-Time Trials

    Top two qualifiers locked into 13th Annual Topless! 200 Time Trials

    Thursday 08/24/2017
    13th Annual Topless! 200
    Qualifying Heats
    B-Main(if needed)
    Main Event

      • Systems Check: 6:45pm-7:00pm
      • Official Practice: 7:00pm-7:15pm-Qualified Cars(10 Laps)
      • Official Practice: 7:15pm-7:30pm-Non-Qualified Cars(10 Laps)
      • Official Practice: 7:30pm-7:45pm-All Cars(Open Pit)
      • Drivers Meeting: 7:45pm-8:00pm
      • SUPRS Live! Stream: 8:00pm
      • Qualifying Heat Races for 13th Annual Topless! 200: 8:00pm 12 Lap
      • 25 Lap B-Main (if needed): 8:15pm
      • Final Warmups Green Track: 8:30pm-8:40pm
      • 13th Annual Topless! 200 Driver Introductions and Pre-Race Festivities: 8:45
      • 13th Annual Topless! 200 GREEN FLAG: 9:00pm

      Guaranteed Starters for 13th Annual Topless! 200

      • Rob Warren-2017 Jim Shampine Memorial Champion
      • Domenic Gioia-2017 The Whistler-Pete Trenca Memorial Champion

      Follow the 13th Annual SUPRS Topless! 200 action all week long with the SUPRS LIVE Ticker

      (NOTE: You must have Flash activated. This feature available only when the SUPRS Race Server is online.)