SUPRS Headed Back Home Again for Indyana Supermod Challenge

Goshen, IN – April 17, 2015…The Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, (SUPRS), will visit the Hoosier State for a two race extravaganza of online simulated supermodified racing next week to close the 2015-16 Indyana Supermod Challenge series.

SUPRS Indyana Supermod Challenge poster

Make your promotion less challenging with great graphics from

Indianapolis Raceway Park will be the scene of the action for the last night of the three race series that started with the Harvest of Speed Season Opener at LaPorte Speedway this past October. The SUPRS racers will run two 50 lap supermodified sim racing features and one driver will leave the Hoosier State as champion of the Indyana Supermod Challenge.

The online supermodified racers will have their work cut out for them with 100 total feature laps to be run using wing and non-wing supermodifieds at two distinctly different versions of the track and two different sim racing platforms.

While the first race of the night will feel very familiar because it will use the SUPRS WV6 mod for NASCAR Heat, this year, the second 50 lap feature will break new ground.

To further test of the sim racers skills, the non-wing supermodified feature is a rFactor race using the SUPRS NWV1 mod on the “O’Reilly Raceway Park” version of the Claremont, Indiana oval.

When it comes to winning at IRP, Ray Sand, Jr. and Myles Maxon hold the distinction of being nearly unstoppable, whether it be in wing or non-wing supermodified competition. Of the 20 SUPRS races contested so far at IRP the two have won half of them. Sand, Jr. has three non-wing wins and two wing supermodified victories, while Maxon has four wing wins and two non-wing checkered.

John Davidson and Bob Gangwer are the only other drivers to come remotely close to that with Gangwer having three total victories and Davidson two. Randy Ritskes, Gary Waldron, Joey Payne, and Devin Gee each have one win at this historic 5/8ths mile track.

With all the marks in the win column at Indianapolis Race Park, it should come as no surprise that Maxon and Sand, Jr. also have the most Indyana Supermod Challenge Championship.

Maxon has won the Challenge an incredible six times with Sand, Jr. being the next closest having captured it three years in a row from 2011-2014. Bob Gangwer and Randy Ritskes are the only other drivers to have won the overall Challenge.

While Sand, Jr. is the current Indyana Supermod Challenge series point leader, “Steady” Steve Callahan, who’s on a two-race win streak, is just five points back. 2004-05 ISC Champion Bob Gangwer in third 10 points out of first.

The overall Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion will be awarded 10 SUPRS Gold Crest Wing Championship points and receive a five-pound bag of  award-winning Yoder’s Indiana popcorn.

Even more bonus points are on the line with drivers having a shot at the SUPRS DoubleDown  of 25 bonus markers if they can win both features, the SUPRSCharger which awards 10 extra points in each race to the driver that advances the most positions from his starting spot and the SUPRSChallenge hands over 20 bonus points if a driver wins either feature from the last starting place.

With only three weeks left in the 2015-16 SUPRS Gold Crest Wing Championship schedule, there’s no slowing down for the competitors that are looking to gain those last few points as they head into the “Circle City” for the Indyana Supermod Challenge.

The SUPRS rFactor Race Server will open at 7:00pm with Official Practice for the non-wing supermodifieds running for an hour between 7:15 and 8:00pm. The wing supermodifieds for NASCAR Heat will then take over and will hot lap from 8:15pm to 8:30.

Time Trials for the wing supermodifieds follow at 8:40pm with heat races for the wing supermodifieds set to start at 8:50pm. At about 9:15pm a final warmup for the non-wing supermodifieds take to the track for ten minutes with the non-wing feature scheduled to start at 9:25pm.

Supermodified and online sim racing fans and friends can enjoy the action and view timing and scoring of every SUPRS rFactor race in an instant, including the non-wing practice and feature of the 12th Annual Indyana Supermod Challenge via the SUPRS LIVE! page.

You can learn more about this race on the SUPRS schedule page.  Regular season updates as well as real supermodified and sim racing news are popular features on the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series Facebook page and @SUPRSOnline.

Current Track Record:

Indianapolis Raceway Park: Myles Maxon-18.284 sec.; Set:04/07/10 (wing supermodified) Indianapolis Raceway Park: Myles Maxon – 18.809 sec; Set-07/15/14 (non-wing supermodified)

Defending Race Winner: WING:Myles Maxon – Non-WING: Myles Maxon

Defending Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon

Indyana Supermod Challenge History

  • 2004-05 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Bob Gangwer
  • 2005-06 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Randy Ritskes
  • 2006-07 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon
  • 2007-08 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon
  • 2008-09 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon
  • 2009-10 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon
  • 2010-11 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon
  • 2011-12 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2012-13 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2013-14 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2014-15 Indyana Supermod Challenge Champion: Myles Maxon

Race Night Times and Schedule of Events-

  • SUPRS rFactor Race Server open for installation test: 7:00-7:15pm
  • Hot laps-7:15-8:15pm non-wing supermodified practice.
  • Hot laps-8:15-8:30pm wing supermodifieds
  • Drivers Meeting-8:30pm
  • Time Trials-8:40pm-wing supermodifieds
  • Heats-8:50pm-wing supermodifieds
  • Feature-9:00pm wing supermodifieds
  • Warmup-9:15pm non-wing supermodifieds
  • Feature-9:25pm non-wing supermodifieds



Gary Waldron cruises to win in winged feature; Sandman nips BG in the non-winged feature at IRP

Indyana Supermodified Challenge graphic

2013 Indyana Supermodified Challenge Indianapolis Raceway Park Winged Time Trials 1. John Davidson #5    18.377 2. Ray Sand Jr #18    18.480 3. Steve Callahan #55    18.536 4. Bobby Gangwer #25    18.597 5. Kevin Baker #60    18.667 6. Rob Warren #35    18.705 7. Carl Becker #42    18.746 8. Gary Waldron #10   …

Keep reading

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 350 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!