Port City Kick-Off Signals Start of New Non-Wing Season

SUPRS Racers Gear Up for Non-Wing Summer Season

May 23, 2017 – Goshen, IN…The Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, (SUPRS), waves the green flag on the start of a new Gold Crest Non-Wing Championship with the Port City Kick-Off Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at Oswego Speedway .

SUPRS 2017 Port City Kick-Off poster

Get your event kicked-off into high gear with great graphics from BreezeGraphics.com

 For the first time since 2012, the Port City Kick-Off is 50 laps instead of 75, making it even more important for the drivers to find the fast line as quickly as possible for a good start to the new season.

The 13th Annual Port City Kick-Off is the first race of a 14 race season schedule, and while the schedule is only slightly different from last year, there are several subtle, but important changes to the SUPRS rFactor mod that include new tires and upgraded brakes. Also, as SUPRS continues to strive to have the most accurately detailed version of Oswego Speedway, racers and fans will notice a few changes to SUPRS already extremely detailed Oswego Speedway for rFactor.

Watch, Listen, Enjoy

When the supermodified sim racers take to the track for the first non-wing race of the season, they’ll do so in front of a worldwide audience thanks to SUPRS LIVE! What was already a great way for fans to keep up with their favorite SUPRS driver, is now better with live streaming video on race nights. Select shows, including the Port City Kick-Off, will have the live video, while all shows will have the regular data available.

In addition, a chat room is available for all fans that have a Twitch.tv account. It’s a great way to make new friends, talk sim racing, or real supermodified racing and enjoy the broadcast all on one page!

For fans that miss the live stream, they’ll be able to catch the full replay on the SUPRS Twitch channel for up to 14 days and the edited version on the SUPRS YouTube Channel within 72 hours of each event.

Click HERE to view and download 2017 SUPRS Gold Crest Non-Wing Schedule

Some Port City History

Clinton Cyr SUPRS Port City Kick-Off winner

Clinton Cyr kicked off the SUPRS non-wing season with a win with barely enough fuel to finish.

Last year Clinton Cyr won his second career SUPRS feature after a great battle with Ray Sand, Jr., the 2015 Port City Kick-Off winner. Cyr raced just one more time with SUPRS after his Port City win, retiring from SUPRS competition after the Jim Shampine Memorial.

Sand, Jr’s second Port City Kick-Off win in 2015 was SUPRS first rFactor race and he joined Myles Maxon and John Davidson as a multi-time winner. Maxon has more opening day wins than any other SUPRS racer with three.

In the last ten years of the race the have been seven different winners with Sand, Jr. and Maxon keeping it from being 10 in 10.  In all, there have been eight different drivers in 13 years sitting in SUPRS Victory Lane on opening night. Sean Gibbs, Jim Crannell, Bob Gangwer, Rob Warren, and Jeff Weber all have one win.

Powell Defends, Weber Returns

The Whistler VL 2016

Keith Powell collected his third feature win in a row and became the first SUPRS driver to ever win The Whistler more than once.

Carrollton, Ohio’s Keith Powell will have his hands full trying to defend his 2016 Gold Crest Non-Wing Championship crown against a group of tough group of competitors. Last year, after an impressive season where he rattled off three big wins in a row, Powell became the eighth different SUPRS Gold Crest Non-Wing Champion. After a string of three years where Ray Sand, Jr. dominated, Powell’s championship made him the fourth different driver in the last four years.

Winning the Port City Kick-Off seems like a good way to win a Gold Crest Non-Wing Championship, but the odds are stacked against any driver hoping to do so. In the 13 year history of the race, just one driver, (Myles Maxon in 2014), that has won the opening night race has gone on to win the season championship!

With SUPRS using rFactor for the non-wing season beginning in 2015, the competition has become increasingly tougher. Making it even more so this year is the return of 2013 Port City Kick-Off winner and 2011 Topless! 200 pole-sitter Jeff Weber to SUPRS competition. Weber has been on the road working for several years but the Indiana sim racer is ready to get back behind the wheel of his online supermodified.

Mark Your Calendar
The SUPRS Race Server will open up on Tuesday June 6, 6pm for Systems Checks for Race Control. Installation Laps start at 7:00pm for drivers.
Official practice for the 13th Annual Port City Kick-Off begins at 8:00pm. Drivers meeting is at 8:30pm with racing set to start at 9:00pm.

Full details for the Port City 75 Kick-Off are on the SUPRS Schedule. SUPRS members should check the Forums for the latest info on server times and passwords.

Fans of supermodified racing and online sim racers alike can learn more about the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series by visiting www.SUPRS.net“Liking” SUPRS on Facebook, Circling SUPRS on Google+Following @SUPRSOnline on Twitter, and Viewing SUPRS videos on YouTube.

Those wishing to become SUPRS members so that they can compete in the season opener, should do so at least 24 hours before the Port City Kick-Off 50 at Oswego Speedway. This will allow  SUPRS officials plenty of time to process all requests and give all new members plenty of time to be ready for the first race of the season.

SUPRS Port City Kick-Off History:

  • 2005 Season Opener Winner: John Davidson/Sean Gibbs(Independence Day Twin 35s)
  • 2006 Port City 40 Kick-Off Winner: Jim Crannell
  • 2007 Season Opener Winner: Myles Maxon(Jim Shampine Memorial)
  • 2008 Season Opener Winner: Myles Maxon
  • 2009 Port City Kick-Off Winner: Bob Gangwer
  • 2010 Port City Kick-Off Winner: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2011 Port City 50 Kick-Off Winner: Rob Warren
  • 2012 Port City 50 Kick-Off Winner John Davidson
  • 2013 Port City 75 Kick-Off Winner: Jeff Weber
  • 2014 Port City 75 Kick-Off Winner: Myles Maxon
  • 2015 Port City 75 Kick-Off Winner: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2016 Port City 75 Kick-Off Winner: Clinton Cyr

SUPRS Gold Crest Non-Wing Champions:

  • 2005-Jim Crannell
  • 2006-John Davidson
  • 2007-Kris Heveron
  • 2008-Kris Heveron
  • 2009-Devin Gee
  • 2010-John Davidson
  • 2011-Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2012-Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2013-Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2014-Myles Maxon
  • 2015-Rob Warren
  • 2016-Keith Powell

Quick Results: Clinton Cyr Takes 12th Annual Port City Kick-Off

SUPRS Port City Kick-Off supermodified sim racing at Oswego Speedway poster

June 1, 2016 – Oswego, NY…It usually takes a driver at least a full season to nail his first win in the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, (SUPRS), supermodified sim racing league. But if your name is Clinton Cyr, you make it look easy. The driver from Inverness, FL brought home his third …

Keep reading

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit OFRacing.com today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 350 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!