Double Points on the Line for SUPRS Mid-Season Championship

Make or Break Time for Many in Championship Points Battle

July 12, 2015 – Goshen, IN…The Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series will resume their 11th Gold Crest Non-Wing Championship presented by 1st to Finish Docks & Hoists on Tuesday July 14 at Oswego Speedway online.  On tap is the Mid-Season Championship highlighted by Twin 35 lap features that will each pay double points.

suprs mid season championship poster

Poster by

With the extra points, regular bonuses on the line and special bonus points for being deemed Mid-Season Champion, this race has traditionally been one that produces a drastic shake-up in the point standings.

This season SUPRS will  crown their Mid-Season Champion with Twin 35 lap feature races at Oswego Speedway in a format identical to the Gold Crest Wing Season where the top eight finishers of the first feature will be eligible for the handicap of the second, and consistency over the course of all the night’s events will pay huge rewards.


However, Meyers will have to keep his guard up against perennial SUPRS Champion, Ray Sand, Jr. While “The Sandman” has struggled the last two races coming home with two fifth place finishes, he won the first two races of the 2015 season and with a total of eight Mid-Season Championships, (counting the Gold Crest Wing season as well), he may be considered the favorite to grab the double points for winning as well as the bonus points for being crowned Mid-Season Champion. Sand, Jr. only recently lost the point lead to Meyers after a controversial finish at the 1st to Finish Docks & Hoists IrRegular 45 two weeks ago, but still hangs onto second place in the championship overall.

If Sand, Jr. is able to pull off his third Non-Wing Mid-Season Championship, he would become the first SUPRS racer to do so. As of now he is tied with John Davidson (2006, 2010 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion), and Kris Heveron ( 2007-08 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion), for most wins in this important event. Jim Crannell (2005), Devin Gee (2009), and Domenic Gioia (2014), and Steve Callahan (2015) are the only other racers to have scored Mid-Season Championships for the Non-Wing season. There was no race held in 2013.

For Meyers and Sand, Jr. the main challenge to padding their point tally will most likely come in the form of “The Rabbit” Joe Achzet as he the only other driver to put a check mark in the win column this season and even though still out of the top five in points, jumped two positions in the standings just prior to the summer break SUPRS is coming out of.

Achzet is one of the drivers from third to eighth in the standings with the most to gain, or loose depending on how one looks at it, separated by just 100 points total. Keith Powell Rob Warren, Steve Callahan, Dave Soja and Bob Gangwer will all be looking to hold on to what they have as well as claw their way up the points ladder.

Potential spoilers could be SUPRS newcomers Dave and Perry Vance and online sim racing veteran Art Palmer. Perry Vance in particular has been the model of consistency so far this season, often times having been involved in incidents not of his doing but bringing home a battered sim supermodified for a top ten finish.

The SUPRS Mid-Season Championship at Oswego Speedway gets underway July 14, 2015 with official practice starting at 8:00 pm. The green flag will drop for racing at 9:00pm.

Supermodified and online racing fans can view timing and scoring of every SUPRS race this season with SUPRS LIVE! You’ll be able to keep up with your favorite SUPRS racer in an instant by going to on race night. SUPRS also features a live marquee that scrolls throughout the site to keep fans up to date on race night.

All fans can learn more about the original and oldest online supermodified sim sanction, the Supermodified Ultimate Pavement Racing Series, when they visit Join SUPRS active and vibrant Social Media channels by  “Liking” SUPRS on Facebook, Circling SUPRS on Google+Following @SUPRSOnline on Twitter, and viewing SUPRS videos on YouTube.


Non-Winged Supermodified Mid-Season Champions

  • 2005 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Jim Crannell
  • 2006 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: John Davidson
  • 2007 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Kris Heveron
  • 2008 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Kris Heveron
  • 2009 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Devin Gee
  • 2010 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: John Davidson
  • 2011 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2012 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Ray Sand, Jr.
  • 2013 No Race
  • 2014 Non-Wing Mid-Season Champion: Domenic Gioia


Mid-Season Championship Format

  • Jeff Russell was injured in 2010 in a supermodified race
    Click to visit today and let Jeff know you care.
  • REAL Supermodified Racing

    Our Real Supermodified Racing YouTube Playlist contains over 450 videos featuring wing, non-wing, 360/350 small-block, and vintage supermodified videos! If you've never seen, or heard a real supermodified, this is a good place to learn more about "The Ultimate Short Track Race Car" and understand why we love them and support them!